For me, pattern , and by contrast a lack of pattern, is really important within design and holds great contribution towards the aesthetic nature of a product. From my formative feedback on my subject module, a harsh but  accurate reminder, I feel the desperate need to further my skills and therefore develop my furniture creations, through use of CAD design and processes.

My design concept before the Christmas break was to create a piece of encompassing furniture, infused with patterns that I had manipulated from architectural structures and buildings. The encompassing piece would be functional, focusing on aesthetic design with a conceptual base – that is not necessarily evident within it appearance.

I had done some research and intended to use living hinges as an alternate method to infuse pattern and design within this conceptual furniture piece.

Living Hinges or lattices through laser cutting, allows a significant degree of flex before the material fractures. They work by exploiting the natural tendency for material to bend around and array of cuts or notches.

living-hinge-experimental-breuer-e1435107881705

Martin Brever created a level of experiments around Kerf bending in sections deducting the level of pliability, torque, tensional strength and regular strength and succeeded in all areas.

Living Hinges tend to only work when acting as a corner tool, as it is supported by uncut wood on either side. I did some experiments with more extravagant patterns, allowing different levels of tolerance and stress where the material would bend along the grain.

These were successful to an extent, as i wanted solid blocks of pattern to bend around a curve, the unsupported hinge pattern did have a certain amount of flexibility on a bias, but was generally quite weak and fragile, therefore unsuited for placement in a piece of functional furniture.

