This term I have struggled to suitably fine contextual reasoning behind my designs, I have researched and designed broadly into contemporary  and mid century furniture design. However in a recent tutorial with Huw we discussed hoe I need to refocus and find context for this project.

Developing  a functional furniture outcome for the domestic interior environment is important to me, and furniture making/ design or interior design is a career prospect that I would like to develop into.

During my research, I distanced myself from the idea of using CAD processes within my work. I believe that they are a certain skills base that has great importance for potential future employers, and therefore i still want to show that I can use CAD software within my design. However, it may not be implemented in the physical making process. Research within my dissertation has changed my perspective upon digital work within making, although it can be a useful tool, when used correctly, it creates a barrier between the designer/ maker and the product, and I don’t see myself using the software or necessarily having access to it after university.

With this in mind, i researched to try and find alternate methods to develop context for my designs, instead looking at companies that are involved with the design and manufacture of furniture with similar values in line with my aspirations.

Similarly In a more recent tutorial with Zoe Preece, values within my own work would consist of; Wood as a concurrent material, a balanced aesthetic (simple or highly patterned etc), tasteful and trendy aesthetic design, responsible and functional design, design for interior environment (commercial or domestic use).

 

d4b0d2a8-b6f0-4128-8edd-1c699dbf4581d7a7984d-7507-4da2-89f7-52665f861fa9

BENCHMARK is a an In-house furniture design company based in Berkshire, England. Their love of making is represented within the product they create. They make furniture that’s ‘rationally designed, beautifully designed, and is designed to last’. Sustainability is key and implement it in as many ways as possible throughout the design process – energy, material, design, employment and longevity of products. The aesthetic of their designs are very similar to my own personal taste, and love their use of colour throughout, their products sit in unison together to create a comfortable, desirable interior environment.

furniture_home_2furniture_home_3

ANGUS ROSS creates bespoke furniture elements made to comisission, made to order and some batch produced items. They are based in Scotland. They create beautiful unique, contemporary furniture and public art. Their product are very much about showing off the importance and aesthetics of the material: wood. They pride themselves on craftsmanship and sustainable design through material sourcing, processes like steam bending and great sophisticated design.

p1080065p1070836

BARNBY DESIGN is a contemporary British furniture brand established in 2012; using quality materials in design and make beautiful furniture for residential and commercial interiors – mainly done internally but work with companies externally to meet larger demands. I like a lot of the furniture advertised online and find similarities in aspects of the designs i’d like to make of my own furniture – quite refined simple designs, showcasing the elegance of wood, off-set with pops of colour. Similarly the designs are intended for interior domestic use, and are likely produced in batches.

downloadimages

STUDIO LORIER is an online Dutch brand, designing products that are used on a daily basis. The products are very refined using form and colour to create a lasting visual impact. A lot of the products are ceramics based vessels but many production skills and processes are used. I love the contrasted created between the use of colour and natural material – the pastel orientated palette informs the design and therefore the interior to create a playful retro vibe. The furniture is very simplistic – which i would want to have a more developed evolved form within my own work.

